top of page
Search
tarellesp

What's your thrill?

What do you look for when choosing an action film? Blood, crime, gang warfare, guns and bullets, the plot twist……what? I look for all, and if it is relatable and I can turn it into a teachable moment for my teens, excellent!


Since the closure of all movie theatres, and lack of production of international movies, I had no choice but to look towards TV series as my source of entertainment within my downtime. I sought recommendations on Facebook and got Gangs of London as a ‘must see’. For me, one episode of a series will determine if I would watch another. Needless to say, I was enthralled by the plot and brutality which created a path of blood and deceit for all nine episodes.


When viewing some of the fight scenes in this series, I was in awe. My favourite scene was the one with the Chinese chopper, but that was just me because my sister was totally disgusted. The second best was the Machete scene, outstanding!!! The brutality was gruesome yet fascinating to watch but overall, it was the emotions for me. Knowing how scared the guy was entering the room yet making a 360 with full courage and bravery as he realize the lives of his family were at stake. Clearly, guts are something one must have when joining a mob and for some, they fit right in or think they do. It is as Finn Wallace said…“We’re born into a certain world, it’s chosen for us, some might think it’s brutal, I say it’s glorious. Once you enter this world, you can build an empire, you can be a king.” Something to remember….his run was short-lived.


This is where the teaching moment for my giants, my larger-than-life teenagers. First lesson; family is everything; we are the ones that matter, everyone else after. Second, loyalty is key as it encourages the members to protect each other and defend their colony with every breath of their being. Thirdly, never lie to mommy because she is their protector for life. Fourthly, never underestimate yourself, surprise others with your capabilities but never yourself - keep pushing.


I can't wait for season 2!!


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page