top of page
Search
tarellesp

There is a warrior in all of us

Listen, guys, this TV series was recommended to me by a close friend, and after watching it I recommended it to several others. This series is not for the faint of heart, or children. It is rated for a Mature Audience as it includes everything; vulgar language, nudity, sexual acts, violence, etc. I could not view it on my television set, as my children were always close by. I had to watch it on my mobile, yes, I only have one television in my house, single parent and all.


Anyway, I binged watched this hell out of this show; two seasons, ten episodes each. Would you believe that I was hooked from the very first episode? OK, imagine an American martial arts crime show made in the 18th century of Chinatown, San Francisco based on a concept by Bruce Lee. Within this series, there are several gangs in operation: two main Tongs (Chinese gangs), an Irish, a gang of Whites that oftentimes coupled with the Police. When was the last time you saw such a television series?


I loved the thrill of the fight scenes, in particular the assignations by the Swordsman... Gotta love the blood! If you liked the movie Fight Club then there is a section for you too, for that was the pleasure of the Irishmen. To tell you the truth….the Fight Club was not my thing back then…still isn’t but this was so refreshing to see lol. Now, don’t get me started on the somewhat updated Chinese kickup. How many of you know what is called a ‘Chinese Kickup’ or know about the Legendary Silver Fox? Lol when you know, you know.


Aside from that, this show highlights the inequality amongst the ranks within the fractions and the different races. It shows the loyalty within the groups, the fight for survival and justice and that money makes the world go around but it can also be deemed as the root of all evil.


This is just my take. I dare you to watch one episode, just one, tell me what you think. I dare you!


Public Service Announcement: The people in this series are just characters paid to act a role but note, we all have some sort of injustice we are dealing with, just remember not everyday is the same.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page