top of page
Search
tarellesp

Moments with the princess

When we came home from my grandmother’s house following the first lockdown, my children withdrew to their rooms. No one had time for their mommy because they all needed their space. It took me a while to understand but then I too was appreciative of the silence within my home. The silence gave me time to think, work, read and watch movies when I was tired of reading. One-day daughter-dearest says she wants us to watch a series together, though I was happy, I also dreaded it as this was 10, 1-hour shows. Nevertheless, I sucked it up and sat down to watch it with her - Ginny & Georgia, the series.


Ginny & Georgia is about a single white woman, her teenage bi-racial daughter, and young white son. Some aspects of the show spoke to me like, being the protector of the flock with all your heart, and then there is s bullying scene; which my daughter said reminded her of me. Disclaimer: I do not condone violence, I teach my children to use other avenues to resolve conflict and if that fails, then leave it for me to handle. So, watch the trailer attached and let me know what would you do.


Without totally dissecting the show, several parts are teachable moments. Georgia, taking advantage of situations for her gain, being a chronic liar, stealing, dismissing the red flags in her son’s behaviour, committing fraudulent activities under the disguise of wanting a better life for herself and her kids. Then there is Ginny, desperately trying to fit in with the teens in school, lashing out at her mother for keeping things from her, speaking to her mother in full ‘brat’ mode, refusing to answer the phone when Georgia calls, in addition to sending half-naked pics to guys on social media.


Do you know which was the outstanding moment for the ‘princess’? Speaking to her mother in ‘brat’ mode, lol. The conversation went like this:

Princess: omg, she get away with that?

Me: with what hon?

Princess: she repeated what Ginny said to her mother

Me: hmm

Princess: if I put God out of my thoughts, all now I have teeth missing and stitches in my lip.


I grew up ‘Ole-School’ with my grandparents and so did my children – with their grand and great grandparents. The parenting skills I grew up with, are day and night in comparison to what millennials grow up to. I am in no way condemning nowadays-parenting skills because traditional skills have several flaws but I am glad to have grown up the way that I did and would not have done it any other way with my children.


Are you a parent? Would you raise your child/ren the way you were raised, even if it’s with a bit of a twist? One thing I do know is that Georgia & Ginny was paid for those skills, old or new school parenting and life isn’t always Sunshine and Butterflies.



7 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


Kaara Ahyoung
Kaara Ahyoung
Dec 22, 2021

Hi. Whilst I am not a parent, I do know that her taking the matter into her own hands probably came as a result of the school not giving her the closure she was looking for. Did she report the bullying to the school so that the authorities could arrange for the parents of both children for a meeting? I am curious to know. If this was not done, this decision would result in further issues.

Like
Tarelle Shiron
Tarelle Shiron
Sep 07, 2022
Replying to

She did report it but actually got some static from the Principal as the child's parent was a loyal donor to the school's administration.

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page